Like to cook? In this forum, both amateur and pro chefs can share recipes, procedures and cooking tips and talk about local restaurant recipes.

Pork Loin

no avatar
User

Beth K.

{ RANK }

Foodie

Wed May 23, 2007 2:18 pm

Pork Loin

by Beth K. » Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:25 am

I'm going to grill some whole pork loins. I've never done this before. I would appreciate some tips and/or marinade suggestions.
Thanks!
no avatar
User

Deb Hall

{ RANK }

Foodie

Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:46 pm

Highlands , Louisville

Re: Pork Loin

by Deb Hall » Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:12 pm

Beth,

I have a great recipe for whole spiced Pork Loin - but it's an oven recipe, not grill. Does that work?

Deb
no avatar
User

Robin Garr

{ RANK }

Forum host

Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:38 pm

Crescent Hill

by Robin Garr » Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:35 pm

Deb Hall wrote:Beth,

I have a great recipe for whole spiced Pork Loin - but it's an oven recipe, not grill. Does that work?

Thinking out loud, it seems to me that with a whole pork loin on the grill, you'd pretty much want to replicate an oven - maybe a quick sear over direct heat, but mostly low and slow on indirect heat, not directly over the coals. Wouldn't you think so, Deb?
no avatar
User

Stephen D

{ RANK }

Foodie

Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:41 am

Lyndon, Ky

by Stephen D » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:59 am

Beth K. wrote:I'm going to grill some whole pork loins. I've never done this before. I would appreciate some tips and/or marinade suggestions.
Thanks!

Robin's got it right. Sear the outside well and then low and slow until has a 135 to 140 degree internal temp, then let it rest for 10 to 15 mins. It will come up a few degrees during that time. You want just the smallest amount of pink in the widest part of the loin. I love using a meat injector on mine. You may also want to consider marinating your loin(s) in brine for 3 to 4 hours.
no avatar
User

Tom Holstein

{ RANK }

Foodie

Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:55 am

Derby City :)

by Tom Holstein » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:30 am