This service is free for legitimate posts from employees and workers about food-and-industry jobs.

Baking Apprenticeship Sought

User

Laura T

{ RANK }

Foodie

Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:19 pm

Louisville, KY

Baking Apprenticeship Sought

by Laura T » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:47 pm

Attention Bakers

I'm an aspiring baker that currently finds myself in a career in the legal field. I don't dislike my current position, but it's not my true passion. My dream is to turn my passion for baking into my career. As far as experience goes, I attended Sullivan University's culinary school half-time for a year, but due to circumstances at the time, was unable to complete the degree. I've been a lifelong lover of baking, and have taught myself some basic cake decorating techniques through reading and practicing at home. I've made many cakes for family and friends, and if I could figure out how, I would post a couple of pictures. I am a fast learner, especially when I enjoy the subject as I do baking, but I know that I have a lot to learn.

I realize that the current economy doesn't make it easy for small, local establishments to hire help. I'm sure that makes you even less inclined to hire someone with little to no formal experience in the field.

I've come up with the idea to offer my assistance to you, the baking professional, on a part-time basis free of charge in exchange for the experience I would gain. I know that I'm a new person on this forum, but if any of you are the least bit interested, please PM me and I can send you my current resume, references, and answer any questions you would like. I worked for years through college and beyond part-time at Burger's Market. Tony and Jeff Burger can both speak to my character and trustworthiness.