Like to cook? In this forum, both amateur and pro chefs can share recipes, procedures and cooking tips and talk about local restaurant recipes.
no avatar
User

NicoleC

{ RANK }

Foodie

Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:09 pm

Cherokee Triangle

Cookware - need advice-UPDATE

by NicoleC » Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:33 pm

I am looking into buying new cookware. I primarily need a skillet (maybe both 8 and 10 inch), a stock pot, a pasta insert, 2ish qt saucepan and a 6 quart pot w/ lid. I've been researching various brands (low end is Sur La Table's line, middle is All Clad MC2 and highest end is Mauviel (however, I would probably only buy 2 or 3 pieces if I bought Mauviel) I have read about Dr. Weil's line and am intrigued by it as well. I can get a very complete set of that for around $599 -- I haven't looked at it in person.
Also, I want a skillet that keeps that nice "slip" without being non-stick (think eggs over easy).

Any advice? I am a relatively serious home cook, but that is it.
Any thoughts/suggestions? Any restaurant supply stores that I should look into for open stock no-name items? Am I insane and should just buy a $199 set at Target or some Martha Stewart from Macy's?

These are some of the things that I've being looking at:
http://www.surlatable.com/product/collections/
http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/i ... ryID=33968
http://www.crateandbarrel.com/family.aspx?c=480&f=14618

$600 is the most I would spend and the lower end I've seen is around $299.

Thanks in advance for any/all advice that you are willing to give.
Last edited by NicoleC on Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
no avatar
User

Rick Boman

{ RANK }

Foodie

Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:26 am

by Rick Boman » Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:24 pm

Buy Calphanon. They are great, non-stick anodized aluminum, that is easy to clean, durable, and visually appealing. That's my two cents.
no avatar
User

NicoleC

{ RANK }

Foodie

Cherokee Triangle

by NicoleC » Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:30 pm