Off-topic discussions about regional news, issues and politics. Pretty much everything goes here, but keep it polite: Flaming and spamming aren't welcome.

Moving to Louisville

no avatar
User

Dan Smith

{ RANK }

Just got here

Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:50 pm

Moving to Louisville

by Dan Smith » Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:55 pm

My wife and I are moving to Louisville this summer, where she will start teaching math in one of Louisville's middle schools. She is someone that can get young minds to open up to advanced math, and to get excited about it. It really is magic to see her teach. And to see the kids light up when she starts. I am a disabled vet, and a stay at home dad to our 4 kids. While being a stay at home dad really is something most guys don't aspire to. At all. I have come to see it as quite a blessing. To give our kids the kind of start they'll need in this hectic world of ours.

Before deciding on Louisville we researched cities all over the country. Crime. Quality of schools. Real estate prices compared to a teachers salary. Physical beauty. Things to do for teens besides get in trouble, and a lot of other areas. And Louisville was the clear winner. It really is quite an undertaking moving a family as large as ours. And something we wanted to only do one time.

I picked up the web address for this site from Robins appearance on Throwdown. And by lurking and reading have found this on-line community to be a friendly place to be. I hope you won't mind if I ask questions about Louisville here. Some of them will even be about food, and places to eat! Like good family style restaurants to fill our kids up at.

In closing, I look forward to typing with you and my soon to be neighbors in Louisville.
no avatar
User

Heather L

{ RANK }

Foodie

Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:12 am

Re: Moving to Louisville

by Heather L » Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:18 pm

Welcome! Well, welcome soon! Where are you coming from?
....And be faithful to
Local Merchants Too.
Never buy far off