Welcome to the Louisville Restaurants Forum, a civil place for the intelligent discussion of the local restaurant scene and just about any other topic related to food and drink in and around Louisville.

Sushi Rolls!?

no avatar
User

Kim H

{ RANK }

Foodie

Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:07 pm

Louisville

Sushi Rolls!?

by Kim H » Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:12 pm

I have been eating sushi since 1982, well before it was popular (esp in WV!), but rarely ventured into the sushi rolls. I tended to stick with the typical nigiri. Last night, we tried the Son of the Jade Dragon and the Citrus Heat at Maido, and boy, have I been cheating myself!!!!! I enjoyed the mix of flavors so much, and now I want to try more! Could you all suggest your favorite rolls at your favorite locations? I think I found a new mission. :D
no avatar
User

Mark Head

{ RANK }

Foodie

Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:44 pm

Prospect

Re: Sushi Rolls!?

by Mark Head » Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:32 pm

The Smile Roll and Toro Hand Roll at Tokyo on Lime Kiln. The Lobster Roll and Cajun Crawfish Roll at Sapporo in the Highlands. I tend to also like rolls that have something warm in the center with raw fish on the outside.

In terms of rolls I think Maido is the most daring in town, if it can be described that way. Their food rocks, especially if I'm in the mood for something a bit non-traditional.
no avatar
User

GaryF

{ RANK }

Foodie

Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:05 am

by GaryF » Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:47 pm

The Lotus Unfolding at Maido is amazing. I believe it is Hamachi and avocado on the inside and roasted pepper and eel on the outside. The combination of textures and flavors is a joy jag on the tongue.
no avatar
User

carla griffin

{ RANK }

Foodie

Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:32 pm

by carla griffin » Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:48 am