Welcome to the Louisville Restaurants Forum, a civil place for the intelligent discussion of the local restaurant scene and just about any other topic related to food and drink in and around Louisville.
no avatar
User

todd richards

{ RANK }

Foodie

Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:00 am

Organic, Wagyu Beef, Heirloom etc.

by todd richards » Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:09 pm

As a chef I think all of these items really matter to the meal we are serving. My question is does it really matter to patrons? Also does it need to be highlighted in every menu item or would that be assumed by the place you are visiting?

Thanks in advanced for any responses.

Todd richards
Executive Chef
The Oakroom/Seelbach
User

Leah S

{ RANK }

Foodie

Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:31 pm

Old Louisville

by Leah S » Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:18 pm

Well, I don't eat the beef products, but I certainly know what those items are and I would direct my dining companions to try them. If you're talking heirloom vegetables, particularly tomatoes, I would go out of my way to order them.

So, YES!!! it does make a difference, at least to me.
User

Ron Johnson

{ RANK }

Foodie

Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:48 am

by Ron Johnson » Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:20 pm

It matters as long as there is truth in advertising. I have become leary of seeing wagyu or kobe on menus when the beef turns out to be wagyu or kobe "style" beef. The same is true of heirloom tomatoes, real foie gras, bresse chicken, true "sashimi grade" tuna, etc.

If the beef is really Prime, I want to know. If it is really aged, I want to know. I might pay $45 for a real aged, prime ribe eye, but I am not going to pay $45 for a good piece of choice rib-eye.

Are the scallops really day-boat? are they really diver scallops? Are the shrimp really key west pinks, or are they frozen from Vietnam?
User

Leah S

{ RANK }

Foodie

Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:31 pm

Old Louisville

by Leah S » Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:22 pm

Oh gosh, Ron, I assumed Todd meant he was being, you know, truthful and all